Table of Contents

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2024: An Exam Pattern is a good way to sort your preparation strategy. Thus, aspiring candidates should know the SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2024. Here, we have discussed the number of questions, type of questions, level of exam, marking scheme, etc. With the release of the CHSL notification recently, a govt job aspirant should be aware of know-what of the exam. This eases in making the preparation strategy & a candidate can get a fair idea of the topics that one need to prioritize.

Let us begin with the understanding of the revised exam pattern of SSC CHSL 2024 released by SSC:

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2024

As per the changed SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2024, there will be two different phases, which a candidate is required to clear in order to get selected for various posts in Government Offices.

1. SSC CHSL Tier I Exam is an Objective Multiple Choice Question paper

2. Tier 2 exam includes following three sections having two modules each. 

Check the table below to know the brief about SSC CHSL Exam Pattern (for each tier)

SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2024
Tier – IObjective Multiple ChoiceComputer Based (online)
Tier – IIObjective Multiple Choice + Skill Test & Typing Test
Tier-II will include three sections having two modules each
Computer Based (online)

SSC CHSL Tier 1 Exam Pattern 2024

  1. Please note that the total duration of Tier-1 is 60 minutes. However, this duration extends to 80 minutes for PWD candidates.
  2. There is a negative marking of 0.50 marks for each incorrect answer.
  3. There will be 4 subjects with 100 questions (Objective Type) and each question carries 2 marks.
SSC CHSL Tier 1 Exam Pattern 2024
SectionSubjectNo of QuestionsMax MarksExam Duration
1General Intelligence2550

60 minutes (80 Minutes for PWD candidates)


2General Awareness2550
3Quantitative Aptitude (Basic Arithmetic Skill)2550
4English Language (Basic Knowledge)2550

SSC CHSL Notification 2024 Out for 3712 Vacancies- Click to Check

SSC CHSL Tier 2 Exam Pattern 2024(Revised)

SSC has revised the SSC CHSL Tier 2 Exam Pattern for CHSL 2024 exam and the new pattern has been detailed below-

Tier II will include the following three sections having two modules each:

Section-1: Module-I: Mathematical Abilities and Module-II: Reasoning and General Intelligence.

Section-2: Module-I: English Language and Comprehension and Module-II: General Awareness

Section-3: Module-I: Computer Knowledge Test and Module-II: Skill Test/ Typing Test

Tier-2 will be conducted in two sessions - Session-1 & Session-2, on the same day. Session-I will include conducting of Section-1, Section-2 and Module-1 of Section-3. Session 2 will include conducting of Module 2 of Section 3.

SSC CHSL Tier 2 will consist of objective-type multiple-choice questions, except for Module 2 of Section 3. The questions will be set in English and Hindi except for Module-2 (i.e. English Language and Comprehension module) in Section 2.

There will be a Session I negative marking of 1 mark for each wrong answer in Section-1, Section-2 and Module-I of Section-3.

SSC CHSL Tier 2 Exam Pattern 2024
SessionSectionModulesSubjectNo. of QuestionsMarksTime
Session-I (2 hours and 15 minutes)Section 1Module-1Mathematical Abilities3060*3 = 1801 hour
Module-2Reasoning and General Intelligence30
Section 2Module-1English Language and Comprehension4060*3 = 1801 hour
Module-2General Awareness20
Section 3Module-1Computer Knowledge Module1515*3 = 4515 minutes
Session-IISection 3Module-2

Skill Test/ Typing Test Module- 

Part A- Skill Test for DEOs in Department/ Ministry

Part B: Skill Test for DEOs except in Department/ Ministry

Part C: Typing Test for LDC/ JSA



15 minutes

15 minutes

10 minutes

SSC CHSL Syllabus 2024- Click to Check

A government job aspirant should know the important facts regarding the SSC CHSL exam pattern, due to which one can check the level of the exam, and make checklists for broader topics of what to cover and what to leave. An aspirant aiming to score well would need to be thorough with the exam pattern, he/she is appearing for. Marking scheme, type of questions and number of questions are the basic things one needs to know.

SSC CHSL 2024 Important Links
SSC Exam Calendar 2024SSC CHSL Syllabus 2024
SSC CHSL Previous Year Cut-OffsSSC CHSL Previous Year Question Paper PDFs
SSC CHSL Salary, Perks & AllowancesSSC CHSL Exam Date & Notification
SSC CHSL Exam Pattern 2024: FAQs

Ans. The complete SSC CHSL Exam Pattern has been provided in this article.

Ans. No, the pattern for both SSC CGL & SSC CHSL are different.

Important Links