Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2022

Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2022: Asia Cup is one of the most popular cricket tournaments in Asia. Asia cup is conducted in a gap of two years by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The 15th edition of the Asia Cup was played in UAE from 27th August to 11th September 2022. This year six teams or countries participated in Asia Cup 2022. Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup 2022 title. The first Asia cup was played in 1984 in UAE and India was the winner of this tournament and Sri Lanka was the runner-up. Here, we are sharing the information about the Asia cup winners list from 1984 to 2022 along with a runner-up and hosting country.

Asia Cup 2022 Winner

Asia Cup 2022 cricket tournament has begun on 27th August 2022 in United Arab Emirates (UAE). The first match was played between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan in Dubai and Afghanistan won this match by 8 wickets. The Winner of the Aisa Cup 2022 has been decided on 11th September 2022 when the two best teams of the tournament Sri Lanka and Pakistan played the final match. Sri Lanka became the winner of the Aisa Cup 2022 by defeating Pakistan by 23 runs.

Asia Cup Winners List

Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2022 is given below in the tabular form. The Asia Cup Winners List table contains the Asia Cup year, winner team, runner-up team, and hosting country.

Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2022
YearWinnerRunner-upHosting Country
1984IndiaSri LankaUAE
1986Sri LankaPakistanSri Lanka
1988IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1991IndiaSri LankaBangladesh
1995IndiaSri LankaUAE
1997Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2000PakistanSri LankaBangladesh
2004Sri LankaIndiaSri Lanka
2008Sri LankaIndiaPakistan
2010IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaPakistanBangladesh
2022Sri LankaPakistanUAE

Asia Cup Winners List- Country-wise

Team India won the Asia cup for the maximum time i.e. 7 times in 15 editions followed by Sri Lanka 6 times and Pakistan 2 times. The three remaining countries Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Hong Kong have yet to open their account in the Asia Cup winners list. The country-wise list of Asia Cup winners is given below.

Team NameWinnerRunner-upWinning Year
India731984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018
Sri Lanka661986, 1997, 2004, 2008, 2014, 2022
Pakistan232000, 2012
Hong Kong---

About Asia Cup

Asian Cup is the only tournament in the world that is based on competitions among the countries of one continent. India is the top performer in Asia Cup history. Till now India has won 7 Asia cups.  Apart from this, India has also been in 10 finals out of 15 total Finals (India has participated in 14 editions though, skipping once). Sri Lanka is the second most successful team in the Asia cup after India. The Sri Lankan team won the Asia cup 6 times and Pakistan took the cup home two times. Initially, it was a competition among three countries but later on Asia Cup expanded to become a six-team tournament today. They are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, and Afghanistan.

Related Links
IPL Winners ListCricket World Cup Winner List
T20 World Cup Winner List 


Asia Cup Winners List- FAQs

Ans. United Arab Emirates (UAE) has hosted the Asia Cup 2022 cricket tournament.

Ans. Six countries are participating in Asia Cup 2022.

Ans. India. India has won 7 Asia cups from 1994 to 2022.

Ans. The winner of Asia Cup 2022 title is Sri Lanka.

Ans. India won Asia Cup title 7 times in 1984, 1988, 1991, 1995, 2010, 2016, and 2018.

Important Links