Here we present the list of Cricket World Cup winners for ODI and T20. Cricket World Cup was contested for the first time in England in 1975. It was played as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. It was held outside England, in India and Pakistan, for the first time in 1987. The 1987 contest also saw the number of overs per side reduced to 50.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List: Overview

In 2007 Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments. There are 12 World Cup tournaments being held till date. Australia is the most successful country which won 5 World Cups. India & West Indies are the only two countries that have won the world cup 2 times each. India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies won in 1975 and 1979. The last world Cup held in 2019 was won by England. The list of World Cup winners for One Day Cricket is given below:

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List

Here is the list of Men's ODI Cricket World Cup winners from 1975 to 2022 with winners, runner-ups, host country, total scores and final result for One Day International (ODI).

Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI)
1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8Match tied after regular play and super over; England won on boundary count

Note- Prepare for Govt. and Competitive Exams with Adda247 and Get 75% Off Live Classes, Test Series, Video Courses, Books, and Other Study Materials, use Coupon Code CP75 and grab the best deals on Study Materials.

Get 75% Off on Live Classes & Test Series [Coupon Code- CP75]

Women's T20 World Cup Winners List

Cricket World Cup Winners List: Results by Country

Australia is the most successful team in the ICC ODI World Cup which has been won the World Cup 5 times and finished as the runner-up 2 times. After Australia, India and West Indies won the World Cup title 2 times. The last ICC ODI Men World Cup 2019 was held in England and Wales and this world cup was won by the hosting country England for the first time.  Here is the list of ODI Cricket World Cup winners country-wise.

TeamFinal AppearancesWinnersRunnersYears WonYears Runners
Australia7521987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 20151975, 1996
England41320191979, 1987, 1992
India3211983, 20112003
New Zealand202-2015, 2019
Sri Lanka31219962007, 2011
West Indies3211975, 19791983

List of Cricket World Cup Winners (T-20)

It would be unfair if we do not include winners of the 20-20 World Cup in the list of cricket world cup winners. You can check the T20 Cricket World Cup winners list from the link given below:

T20 World Cup Winners list from 2007 to 2023- Click to Check

IPL 2023 Schedule and Time Table- Click to Check

Check IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2023

Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2023

Cricket World Cup Winners List- FAQs

Ans. 12.

Ans. Australia, won the world 5 times.

Ans. 1987, in India and Pakistan.

Ans. India won Cricket World Cup 2 times in 1983 and 2011.

Ans. 2007, the first t-20 world cup was won by India.

Important Links