List of RBI Governors from 1935 to 2020

Reserve bank of India (RBI) is the Central Bank of India. It is responsible to govern the monetary policy of the country. RBI was established on 1st April 1935 under the RBI Act, 1934 and was formed with the recommendation of “Hilton - Young Commission”. It was initially established as a privately owned bank and got nationalized on 1st January 1949 after the independence of India. RBI is headquartered in Mumbai but initially, it was located in Kolkata and shifted to Mumbai in 1937. Government Of India appoints the head of RBI who is referred to as governor. So far RBI has had 25 governors. Osborne Smith was the first governor of RBI in 1935 and Shaktikanta Das is the current governor of RBI. One of the major responsibilities that RBI holds is to form the monetary policy.

RBI consists of the following members:

RBI Governors: Powers

The RBI Governors carries many powers. We can understand them with the help of the following points:

RBI Governors List: Governor Eligibility

Initially, RBI Governors were a part of Indian Civil services like C D Deshmukh, Bengal Rama Rao etc. but any individual who holds a Graduate degree/ Post Graduate/ Chartered Accountant can become a Governor of RBI provided that he had worked in any of the following institutions:

Other than the above any citizen who is 35 years or above than that is eligible. He must not be a member of the Parliament/State Legislature also he must not hold any other office for profit.

RBI Governors List: Appointment

The Governor of RBI is not appointed by the PMO (Prime Minister Office) on the recommendation of Union Finance Minister.

RBI Governors List: Tenure

The tenure of a RBI Governors as specified in the constitution is three years however it can be extended for two more years. The Governor can be terminated in two cases and they are as follows:

RBI Governors List: Responsibilities of RBI Governors

Here are some duties which are generally performed by the RBI Governors.

The RBI Governors perform many more functions as the central bank of India.

RBI Governors List: Full Table

The list of RBI Governors from 1935 to 2020 is as mentioned below:

RBI Governors Names Time Period 1935-2020
Sir Osborne Smith April 1, 1935 – June 30, 1937
Sir James Braid Taylor July 1, 1937 – February 17, 1943
Sir C.D. Deshmukh August 11, 1943 – June 30, 1949
Sir Bengal Rama Rau July 1, 1949 – January 14, 1957
K.G. Ambegaonkar January 14, 1957 – February 28, 1957
H.V.R Lyengar March 1, 1957 – February 28, 1962
P.C Bhattacharya March 1, 1962 – June 30, 1967
L.K. Jha July 1, 1967 – May 3, 1970
B.N. Adarkar May 4, 1970 – June 15, 1970
S. Jagannathan June 16, 1970 – May 19, 1975
N.C. Sen Gupta May 19, 1975 – August 19, 1975
K.R. Puri August 20, 1975 – May 2, 1977
M. Narasimham May 3, 1977 – November 30, 1977
I.G. Patel December 1, 1977 – September 15, 1982
Manmohan Singh September 16, 1982 – January 14, 1985
Amitav Gosh January 15, 1985 – September 4, 1985
R.N. Malhotra February 4, 1985 – December 22, 1990
S. Vpnldraramanan December 22, 1990 – December 21, 1992
C. Rangarajan December 22, 1992 – November 21, 1997
Bimal Jalan November 22, 1997 – September 6, 2003
Y.V. Reddy September 6, 2003 – September 5, 2008
D. Subbarao September 5, 2008 – September 4, 2013
Raghuram G. Raj an September 4, 2013 – September 4, 2016
Urjit Ravindra Patel September 4, 2016 – December 10,2018
Shaktikanta Das December 12, 2018 – to date

Aspirants of Government exams or any other competitive exams must be well aware of the list of RBI Governors and the time duration they have served the organization. This topic holds relevance for the general awareness section of all types of competitive exams and for the Polity section in the exams.

RBI Governors List of India: FAQs

Q 1. Who was the first Governor of RBI?

Ans. Sir Osborne Smith was the first Governor of RBI.

Q 2. Who was the first Indian Governor of RBI?

Ans. Sir C. D. Deshmukh was the first Indian Governor of RBI.

Q 3. Who is the current RBI Governor?

Ans. Shaktikanta Das is the current Governor of RBI.

Q 4. When was RBI established?

Ans. RBI was established on 1st April 1935 under the RBI Act, 1934.

Q 5. When was RBI Nationalised?

Ans. On 1st January 1949 RBI was Nationalised.