Since independence literacy rates have gone from 12% to 75% in current years. In India, the education system has improved since the times of independence and this change is due to the great devotion and dedication of our leaders who tried hard to bring change in the level of education to be delivered. There have been more than 30 Education Ministers till now. They all have done admirable jobs in their time as Education Minister of India.

List of Education Ministers of India

Education ministers of India have played a significant role in molding the education system in India. From a 12% literacy rate at the time of independence to a 75% literacy rate in the present era has been the great role of our great leader. From our First Education minister, Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad to the Present Education minister of India Dharmendra Pradhan has contributed significantly to making this nation a great hub of education. Implementation of New Educational Policy 2020 is running to make new reforms in the education system in India. Below is the list of Education Ministers of India including their tenure of office:

S.No.Education Ministers of IndiaTerm of office
1.Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad 15 Aug 1947 – 22 Jan 1958
2.Dr. K. L. Shrimali 22 Jan 1958 – 31 Aug 1963
3.Shri Humayun Kabir1 September 1963- 21 Nov 1963
4.Shri. M. C. Chagla21 Nov 1963- 13 Nov 1966
5.Shri. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 14 Nov 1966-  13 March 1967
6.Dr. Triguna Sen 16 March 1967- 14 Feb 1969
7.Dr. V. K. R. V. Rao 14 Feb 1969 – 18 March 1971
8.Shri. Siddhartha Shankar Ray18 March 1971 – 20 March 1972
9.Prof. S. Nurul Hasan 24 March 1972- 24 March 1977
10.Prof. Pratap Chandra Chunder 26 March 1977 – 28 July 1979
11.Dr. Karan Singh29 July 1979 -January 1980
12.Shri. B. Shankar Anand 14 January 1980- 18 October 1980
13.Shri. S.B. Chavan17 October 1980- 8 August 1981 
14.Smt. Sheila Kaul 10 August 1981- 31 December 1984
15.Shri. K. C. Pant31 December 1984- 25 September 1985
16.Shri. P.V. Narasimha Rao25 September 1985- 25 June 1988
17.Shri. P. Shiv Shankar 25 June 1988- 2 December 1989
18.Shri. V.P. Singh 2 December 1989- 10 November 1990
19.Shri. Raj Mangal Pandey 21 November 1990- 21 June 1991
20.Shri. Arjun Singh 23 June 1991- 24 December 1994
21.P.V Narasimha Rao (REPEATED TWICE)25 December 1994- 9 February 1995
22.Shri. Madhav Rao Scindia10 February 1995- 17 January 1996
23.P.V Narasimha Rao (REPEATED THRICE)17 January 1996- 16 May 1996
24.Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee16 May 1996- 1 June 1996
25.Shri. S.R. Bommai5 June 1996- 19 March 1998
26.Dr. Murali Manohar Joshi19 March 1998- 22 May 2009
27. Arjun Singh (REPEATED TWICE)22 May 2004 – 22 May 2009
28.Shri Kapil Sibal29 May 2009- 29 October 2012
29.Shri. M. M. Pallam Raju30 October 2012- 26 May 2014
30.Smt. Smriti Irani26 May 2014 – 5 July 2016
31.Shri. Prakash Javdekar5 July 2016 – 30 May 2019
32.Ramesh Pokhriyal30 May 2019- 7 July 2021
33.Dharmendra Pradhan7 July 2021 – Present 

Education Minister of India

In order to achieve or raise this mission, the Ministry of Education which is responsible for the implementation of the National Education policy was created on September 26, 1985. India had the Ministry of Education since 1947. In 1985, the Rajiv Gandhi government changed the Ministry of Education to the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), and later with the public announcement of the newly drafted "National Education Policy 2020" by the Narendra Modi government, the Ministry of Human Resource Development was renamed back to the Ministry of Education. Currently, it has two departments:

  1. Department of School Education & Literacy
  2. Department of Higher Education

Where the Department of School Education & Literacy is responsible for the development of school education and literacy in the country whereas the Department of Higher Education takes care of what is one of the largest Higher Education systems in the world, just after the United States and China.

  1. The Department of School Education and Literacy- This department deals with primary, secondary, and higher secondary education, as well as adult education and literacy in India.
  2. The Department of Higher Education- This department deals with secondary, post-secondary, and university-level education, technical education, scholarships, and so on. The department is empowered to grant deemed university status to educational institutions on the advice given by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India, under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act.

Objectives of the Education Ministry

The main objectives of the Ministry would be:

  • Formulating the National Policy on Education and ensuring that it is implemented in letter and spirit
  • The planned development includes expanding access and improving the quality of educational institutions throughout the country, including in the regions where people do not have easy access to education.
  • Paying special attention to disadvantaged groups like the poor, females, and the minorities
  • Provide financial help in the form of scholarships, loan subsidies, etc. to deserving students from deprived sections of society.
  • Encouraging international cooperation in the field of education, including working closely with UNESCO and foreign governments as well as Universities, to enhance the educational opportunities in the country.

The Indian education system for a long time has faced the problem of inaccessibility and low-quality education that make Indians unemployable. Due to this, India cannot use its human capital's potential. Education is one of the vital tools that help a nation to develop and our education ministry has played a more significant role in regulating the well-education system in India. Education Ministers of India have played a pivotal role in the Education Ministry as they are the one who plans and deals with the needs of the population and provide a solution according to the need.

Education Minister of India- FAQs

Ans. Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad was the first Education Minister of India.

Ans. In pursuance of this mission, the Ministry of Education which is responsible for implementing the National Education policy, was created on September 26, 1985.

Ans. Ministry of Education was earlier knowns as Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD).In 1985, Rajiv Gandhi government changed its name to the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), and with the public announcement of the newly drafted "National Education Policy 2020" by the Narendra Modi government, the Ministry Human Resource Development was renamed back to the Ministry of Education.

Ans. Dharmendra Pradhan is the current Cabinet Minister for Education and Skill Development and Entrepreneurship in the Government of India.

Ans. The Mandate of the Ministry of Education is to formulate and implement education and science policies, set and enforce standards and regulations, license, supervise and provide education and skills development, as well as promote science, technology and innovation education.

Important Links