7 Continents of the World

7 Continents of the World: Our planet is basically divided into two categories namely landmasses and water bodies. Where 71% of the total area of the Earth consists of water in the form of Oceans and the rest 29% consists of landmasses called Continents. On the planet, you will find 7 continents and 5 oceans. The 7 continents of the world are Asia, Africa, Europe, Australia, North America, South America, and Antarctica. The topic of 7 Continents of the World is quite important topic for General Knowledge. So, here we are covering all about the 7 Continents of the world, their areas, populations, various facts about continents, etc. Go through the complete article to learn interesting facts about 7 Continents. 

7 Continents

7 Continents Names

The 7 continents' name list in order is tabulated below. Asia is the largest continent in the world it holds around 59% of the world's total population whereas Antarctica is the continent that covers around 13,720,000 km² Area. Let’s have a look at all 7 continents' Areas, Populations, Population Shares and number of countries below:

ContinentsArea (km²)Population (By 2020)Population Share (%)Number of countries
North America21,330,000592,072,2127.60%23
South America17,461,112430,759,7665.53%12

Seven Continents of the world 

The large land masses present on the Earth are known as Continents. Which may or may not be separated by oceans. More precisely or from the geographical perspective, Continents are defined by the rocks they are made of. These continents are further divided into several countries or islands. The seven continents on our planet are Asia, Africa, Europe, North America, South America, Australia, and Antarctica. These 7 continents vary in size and population numbers.

1. Asia

The largest continent in the world and covers one-third of total land on Earth which is about 30% of Earth's total land area. It is present in the Eastern Hemisphere. There are 48 Countries recognized by the United Nations and a few dependencies and other territories which can be seen on the map. The continent's total population is about 4,641,054,775 including the world's two most populated nations, China and India. It is the birthplace of many faiths, including Hinduism, Islam, and Buddhism.

2. Africa 

Africa covers about 20 percent of the total landmass on planet Earth. World's second most populated continent with a population of 1,340,598,147 people. Africa includes a total of 54 countries. It is the birthplace of the Nile, the world's longest river. The Sahara, the world's biggest desert, is also located in Africa. Since the equator runs across the center of Africa, it gets direct sunshine all year. Ethiopia, the world's hottest region, is located in Africa.

3. Europe

Europe is the continent with 44 countries with a population of nearly 747,636,026 people. There are no deserts in Europe, making it the only continent without them. Europe was the central focus of both World Wars. Europe is host to Vatican City, the world's tiniest country. The Euro is a single currency used by the majority of European countries.The most populous country in Europe is Germany, while the most populous cities are London and Paris.

4. North America 

This is the only continent with any climate imaginable: tropical, desert, continental, moderate, and polar. In North America, there are a total of five time zones. The population of North America is about 592,072,212 and has 23 Countries. The USA, which is the world's largest economy, is situated in North America. One of the Great Lakes, ‘Lake Superior’, is the world's largest freshwater lake. It is situated on the United States-Canada border.

5. South America

The Amazon River, the world's largest river by size, is part of South America. The Anaconda, one of the world's largest snakes, is also found in the continent. South America is home to two of the world's tallest volcanoes i.e Mt. Cotopaxi and Mt. Chimborazo. The continent’s total population is 430,759,766. Brazil, a South American country, is the world's largest coffee producer.

6. Australia

This continent is referred to as the "Island Continent." Australia is also the world's smallest continent. In contrast to Asia, that's a drop in the bucket. There are only 3 Countries in Australia continent, and that are Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea with a population of just 43,111,704 people! It is known as "The Land Down Under" because it lies completely south of the equator.

7. Antarctica

In the summer, Antarctica occupies nearly 14.2 million square kilometers. Owing to the vast volume of sea ice that develops around its periphery during the winter months, it almost doubles in size. Antarctica is the world's driest, windiest, emptiest, and coldest continent which makes conditions unfavorable for humans to live. So, it was the only continent without an indigenous population. Antarctica is home to almost 75% of the world's glaciers. The thickness of the ice is estimated to be up to 4 kilometers.

Area-Wise Continents- From Largest to Smallest

The 7 continents' name list in order in terms of the area from large to small is Asia > Africa > North America > South America > Antarctica > Europe >  Australia.

Continents of the World- Important Points

  1. Asia is the largest continent, it covers one-third of the earth’s surface.
  2. Africa is the second-largest continent.
  3. While Europe is regarded as the wealthiest and richest continent, there are poor regions, especially in the continent's eastern regions as well.
  4. There are a total of five-time zones in North America.
  5. Antarctica has its own Treaty, in 1959, 12 countries signed the Treaty, Since then 41 other countries have also signed and participated in the annual meeting.

7 Continents and 5 Oceans- Read More

Countries and their Capitals

7 Continents of the World- FAQs

Ans: Asia is the world's largest continent in terms of area and population. It occupies an area of 44,614,000 square kilometers.

Ans: Australia is the world's smallest continent in terms of land area. It occupies a total area of 7,686,884 square kilometers.

Ans: Equator passes through 3-Continents l.i.e South America, Africa, and Asia. Which covers around 13 Countries of these three continents.

Ans: Australia is also known as Oceania. Oceania is a geographic region that includes Australasia, Polynesia, Micronesia and Melanesia.

Ans: The 7 continents of the world are Asia, Africa, Europe, Australia, North America, South America, and Antarctica.

Important Links