Home   »   G20 Countries

G20 Countries, Complete List, 18th G20 New Delhi Summit

G20 Countries: The 18th G20 Heads of State and Government Summit took place in New Delhi, India.  Group of Twenty Countries (commonly called G20 Countries) is a group of intergovernmental forums that comprises 19 countries and the European Union (EU). The G20 Countries aim to work to address key issues related to the global economy, such as international financial stability, climate change mitigation, and sustainable development.

G20 Countries

In addition to membership of these countries, there are also other forums or institutes participating in the meeting, namely, IMF, the World Bank, the International Monetary and Financial Committee and the Development Assistance Committee. The G20 Countries membership comprises a mix of the world’s largest advanced and growing economies. 

Together, the G20 members represent almost 90% of the World’s GDP, 80% of international global trade, and 2/3 of the world’s population. This informal forum was formed in the year 1999 after several economic crises but from the year 2008, it was decided that the G20 summit would begin to convene once annually.  

G20 Countries

Formation 1999( But G20 Summits began in 2008 to convene annually)
Purpose Policy coordination between its members in order to achieve global economic stability, and sustainable growth;

Promoting financial regulations that reduce risks and prevent future financial crises;

Modernizing international financial architecture.

Membership 19 Countries and European Union

G20 Countries Names

The Group of Twenty (G20) comprises 19 countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Türkiye, United Kingdom and United States) and the European Union. Have a look over the list of countries enjoying membership in G20:

G20 Countries, Complete List, 18th G20 New Delhi Summit_3.1

Previous G20 Summits

In 1999, the G20 was created as a response to the Asian financial crisis. It was designed as a platform for Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors to address worldwide economic and financial concerns. The G20 has since been recognized as the foremost forum for global economic collaboration and has been elevated to the level of Heads of State/Government. The first G20 Summit Meeting was held in 2008 in Washington DC (USA) and later on was held every year for which the complete list has been mentioned below.

Previous G20 Summits
Year Hosting Countries Themes & Details
2008 Washington DC (USA) The 2008 Summit was the 1st G20 Meeting which focuses on the theme “To prevent future financial crises, global economic governance needs reform to secure sustainable and balanced growth”.
2009 Pittsburgh (USA) This summit mandated stricter banking regulations, including increased profit retention for capital building. G20 Summit 2009 has been referred to as the “London Summit”.
2010 Toronto (Canada) The theme of the summit held in 2010 in Toronto (Canada) was “Shared Growth Beyond Crisis”.
2011 Cannes (France) The 2011 G20 Cannes Summit was the sixth in a series of meetings among heads of government and heads of state of G20 countries to discuss financial markets and the global economy.
2012 Los Cabos (Mexico) In 2012, Mexico prioritized economic stability, structural reform for growth and employment, strengthening financial systems, and promoting financial inclusion for economic growth during its G20 Presidency. Furthermore, Mexico aimed to enhance the international financial architecture in an interconnected global economy.
2013 St. Petersburg (Russia) The G20 Summit held in 2013 focuses on 8 sectors- framework for strong, sustainable and balanced growth; jobs and employment; international financial architecture reform; strengthening financial regulation; energy sustainability; development for all; enhancing multilateral trade; and fighting corruption.
2014 Brisbane (Australia) G20 Summit 2014 was held in Brisbane (Australia) with general themes including “global economy, financial regulation, poverty reduction and sustainable development”.
2015 Antalya (Turkey) During the 2015 G20 Summit in Antalya, leaders addressed migration and refugee movements and issued a statement on fighting terrorism.
2016 Hangzhou (China) The theme of the 2016 Summit China was “Towards an innovative, invigorated, interconnected and inclusive world economy”.
2017 Hamburg Theme- “Shaping an interconnected world”
2018 Buenos Aires “Building Consensus For Fair And Sustainable Development”
2019 Osaka (Japan) The G20 Summit 2019 focused on key issues such as Trade and Investment; Excess Capacity of Steel; Digitalization; Data Free Flow with Trust; G20/OECD Framework on Base Erosion and Profit Sharing; Quality Infrastructure investment; Anti-Corruption; Climate Change; Energy; Environment; Displacement and Migration.
2020 Saudi Arabia The theme of G20 Summit 2020 was “Realising Opportunities of the 21st Century for all”. G20 Summit Saudi Arabia 2020 was the first-ever virtual Summit in the history of G20.
2021 Italy G20 Italy Summit 2021 focus on three broad, interconnected pillars of action- “People, Planet, Prosperity”.
2022 Bali, Indonesia The G20 summit’s theme for the year 2022 was “Recover Together, Recover Stronger”
2023 New Delhi (India) The G20 summit’s theme for the year 2023 is “Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam” or “One Earth, One Family, One Future”.

G20 Countries- FAQs

Q1. G20 summit 2022 held in which country?

Ans. The G20 Summit 2022 was the Eighteenth meeting of the Group of Twenty (G20), a summit took place in New Delhi, India

Q2. Is India part of the G20 forum?

Ans. Yes, India is the part of G20 intergovernmental forum.

Q3. G20 summit 2023 will be held in which country? 

Ans. The 18th G20 Summit 2023 will be held in New Delhi, India.

Q4. Where is the G20 headquarter?

Ans. The G20 does not have any permanent secretariat or Headquarters. The G20 Presidency rotates annually according to a system which helps to ensure a regional balance over time.

Q5. What is the G20 troika?

Ans. It refers to the top grouping within the G20 that consists of the current, previous and incoming presidencies of the G20 Summit — Indonesia, Italy and India.

About the Author

As Team Lead- Content Writer, I take on leadership within our content creation team, overseeing the development of error-free educational content. My primary responsibility is to produce and analyse high-quality content educating and informing the aspirants about upcoming government exams published on our website. I have more than 6 years experience in content writing wherein 3.5 years of experience in ed-tech content writing.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *