Indian States and Capitals: India is the seventh largest country in the world and also the second most populous. It lies in southern Asia. It is officially known as the Republic of India. It is governed by a parliamentary form of government. It gets very difficult to manage a large country from one place. So Indian Constitution gives the right to the central government to make states feel suitable. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in our country India. This article talks about the list of the Indian States and their Capitals.

States and Capitals of India

Many people don't know about the total number of States / Union Territories in India and their capitals. In this article, we are giving you the latest update on the States and Capitals of India. There are a total of 28 states and 8 union territories in India at present. Each state of India has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital some states all three functions are conducted in one capital. Every state is ruled by a Chief Minister. Here we have covered the list of the Indian States, Union Territories, and their capitals.

Indian States and Capitals

India has a total of 28 states and 8 union territories. The 28 Indian States and their capitals are as follows.

The Indian States and their Capitals
State NameCapital
Andhra PradeshAmaravati
Arunachal PradeshItanagar
Himachal PradeshShimla
Madhya PradeshBhopal
Tamil NaduChennai
Uttar PradeshLucknow
UttarakhandDehradun (Winter)
Gairsain (Summer)
West BengalKolkata

All State's CM & Governor List 2023: Read This Also

Indian Union Territories and Capitals

At Present India now has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020. At present India has 8 Union Territories.

Union Territories NameCapital
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman
DelhiNew Delhi
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)

States and Capitals of India Map

You can check the latest political map of India which provides the total number of states and union territories in India and their capitals at present.

Image Source:

States and Capitals: Important Points

After getting the list of Indian States & Union Territories with their capitals, let us first understand how to segregate a state from a union territory. Out of the eight union territories in India, three union territories have their own legislatures these are Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry) and Jammu and Kashmir. Each union territory and state has a capital of its own.

StateUnion Territories
 The state has its own administrative units with their own elected government.Union Territories are constituent units which are controlled and administered by the Central Government.
Executive Head is the GovernorExecutive Head is the President
The relationship with the Centre is Federal.Unitary with the Centre. i.e. all the powers rests in the hands of Union.
Administered by the Chief Minister and elected by the people.Administered by the Administrator which is appointed by the President. ( except Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu & Kashmir)
Chief Minister is the real head.Lieutenant is the real head.

States and Capitals of India: Latest Updates

Before we get into the Union Territories and their capitals, let us first have a look at the recent updates on UTs.

Since 26th January 2020, India had 8 union territories. The U.T Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli have become a single union territory.

On August 5, the central government had also announced the abrogation of the special status given to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 and its division into two Union Territories i.e. UTs of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.

With the merger of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of UT's have come down to eight.

Largest and Smallest State & UT of India: Read this Also

As responsible citizens, we should know about the states and capitals of India. The states and capitals are very commonly asked as the General Awareness Questions in a number of competitive exams held all over the country.

Read: General Knowledge (GK) 2023 Notes

Also Check, 

Government Jobs 2023Sarkari Result 2023SSC MTS 2023 Notification
SSC GD Admit Card 2023SSC CGL 2023 NotificationIBPS Clerk Result 2023
CTET Admit Card 2023LIC ADO 2023 NotificationLIC AAO 2023 Notification


States and Capitals 2023- FAQs

Ans. India is a union of 28 states and 8 union territories in the country.

Ans. There are 8 union territories in India at present.

Ans. Daman and Diu is merged with Dadar and Nagar Haveli.

Ans. Jammu and Kashmir is bifurcated into Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh Union Territories.

Ans. New Delhi is the capital of India.

Ans. Lieutenant Governor is the head of the Union Territory.

Important Links