Eknath Shinde, New CM of Maharashtra

New CM of Maharashtra Appointed: After Maharashtra Political Crises, the final result has been announced today and Rebel Shiv Sena Eknath Shinde would be Maharashtra's New Chief Minister. Eknath Shinde will be the New Chief Minister of Maharashtra. The oath ceremony will be held at 7:30 pm today (30th June 2022) along with the ministers of his new cabinet. The new CM of Maharashtra, Eknath Shinde will take responsibility for the smooth functioning of the government of the state and take ahead Narendra Modi's vision of development. A day before Uddhav Thackeray resigned from the post of Maharashtra CM after the Supreme Court refused to stay the floor test order. The Chief Minister of Maharashtra will be the head of the executive branch of the government of the state. Previously, BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis was to be elected as CM of Maharashtra but after a meet-up with Governor BS Koshyari at Raj Bhavan, the announcement has been done as “rebel Shiv Sena leader Eknath Shinde as the new CM of Maharashtra”.

Soon after BJP's Devendra Fadnavis announced that Eknath Shinde would be the new chief minister of Maharashtra, Eknath Shinde said, "The decision which we took today is for the Hindutva and ideology of Balasaheb along with the agenda of development in the constituencies of our MLAs."

Eknath Shinde as new cm of maharashtra

Know More About Eknath Shinde

Ek Nath Shinde was born on 9 February 1964. Eknath Shinde hails from the Jawali taluka in Satara, Maharashtra, and belongs to the Maratha community.

He was the Cabinet Minister of Urban Development and Public Works (Public Undertakings) in the Government Of Maharashtra. 

Eknath Shinde has been a member of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly since 2009.

He has been elected consecutively for 4 terms in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

He will be the 20th Chief Minister of Maharashtra from 30th June 2022 onwards. 

Chief Minister of Maharashtra

Eknath Shinde will be the 20th Chief Minister of Maharashtra after Uddhav Thackeray. Check the complete list of previous Chief Minister of Maharashtra along with their duration from here. 

Name of Chief MinisterDuration
Eknath Shinde30th June 2022 onwards
Uddhav Thackeray28 November 2019 to 29 June 2022
Devendra Fadnavis23 November 2019 to 26 November 2019
President's rule12 November 2019 to 23 November 2019
Devendra Fadnavis31 October 2014 to 12 November 2019
President's rule28 September 2014 to 30 October 2014
Prithviraj Chavan11 November 2010 to 28 September 2014
Ashok Chavan7 November 2009 to 11 November 2010
Ashok Chavan8 December 2008 to 7 November 2009
Vilasrao Deshmukh1 November 2004 to 8 December 2008
Sushilkumar Shinde18 January 2003 to 1 November 2004
Vilasrao Deshmukh18 October 1999 to 18 January 2003
Narayan Rane1 February 1999 to 18 October 1999
Manohar Joshi14 March 1995 to 1 February 1999
Sharad Pawar6 March 1993 to 14 March 1995
Sudhakarrao Naik25 June 1991 to 6 March 1993
Sharad Pawar4 March 1990 to 25 June 1991
Sharad Pawar26 June 1988 to 4 March 1990
Shankarrao Chavan12 March 1986 to 26 June 1988
Shivajirao Patil Nilangekar3 June 1985 to 12 March 1986 
Vasantdada Patil2 February 1983 to 3 June 1985
Babasaheb Bhosale12 January 1982 to 01st February 1983
Abdul Rehman Antulay09 June 1980 to 12 January 1982
President's rule17 February 1980 to 08 Jun 1980
Sharad Pawar18 July 1978 to 17 February 1980
Vasantdada Patil05 March 1978 to 18 July 1978
Vasantdada Patil17 May 1977 to 05 March 1978
Shankarrao Chavan21 February 1975 to 16 May 1977
Vasantrao Naik13 March 1972 to 20 February 1975
Vasantrao Naik1 March 1967 to 13 March 1972
Vasantrao Naik05 December 1963 to 1 March 1967
P. K. Sawant25 November 1963 to 04 December 1963
Marotrao Kannamwar20 November 1962 to 24 November 1963
Yashwantrao Chavan1 May 1960 to 20 November 1962


New CM of Maharashtra: FAQs

Ans. Eknath Shinde will be the new Chief Minister of Maharashtra

Ans. Eknath Shinde will be the 20th Chief Minister of Maharashtra from 30th June 2022 onwards.

Important Links